Views

Ask and You Shall Receive – But …

Ask and you shall receive, but we all know that sometimes we ask but do not receive. People of faith view these situations as a challenge to their faith, whether their devotion to God will withstand difficult times or not; but more than that I think we people of faith must use these times as a chance to examine how and why we ask.

We can ask selfishly or selflessly, and the former is more common.

Selfish asking Selfless asking
·         God, give me what I know I want right now.

·         I ask for things which will make my life on earth more enjoyable.

·         I ask for things which will only benefit me and the people who are close to me.

·          When finally given what I ask, I will forget to thank You, or not thank You enough.

·         God, give me what You know I want at the right time.

·         I ask for things which will make me a better person.

·         I ask for things which will benefit everybody, including those who dislike me.

·         Whether or not I am given what I ask, I will continue to thank You profusely all the days of my life.

So, how do you ask? Why do you ask?

 

Leave a Reply

