Views

Christmas is NOT about Family

It is about Christ.

It is about the declaration of war against sin and Satan.

It is about our Christian faith which the martyrs of the past have suffered horribly for, which the martyrs of the present continue to suffer horribly for, and which the martyrs of the future will continue to suffer horribly for.

It is about God who humiliated Himself by leaving His throne and becoming human.

It is about God who died for our sins.

Try saying this out loud or tweeting it or whatever. People will call you a killjoy because they think Christmas is about Santa Claus and Christmas trees and gifts.

Are you brave enough to be deviant?

You might say, ‘Ok, Katie, we’ll remember that,’ but afterwards go to your  Christmas parties and be merry and forget about Christ. Here’s my tip: Advent fast.

Ok, this tip is kinda late (sorry, I had internet problems and couldn’t update this blog) but better late than never. I have decided this Advent to fast  from Monday to Saturday until December 25. I already regularly fast every Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, but including Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays is a challenge. Yesterday, I thought I was going to pass out from low blood sugar and had to ask my guardian angel that if God wants me to keep on then please boost me up or else I’m going to stuff a muffin into my mouth. Bravo, guardian angel! He did boost me up.

This is difficult but I want to do this because I need to remind myself of the above truth, because it is very easy to forget this truth amidst the non-stop parties and gift-giving. You see, by giving up something now, I remind myself constantly that there is something else in the future that is better than everything else the world is offering to me now.

If you can’t fast for the whole of Advent, I suggest giving up something like you would during Lent, or you can also designate 2 or 3 days out of the week as fast days. And like a good Catholic, you must never fast on Sundays, but don’t overeat either to ‘compensate’ if you know what I mean.

Also, fasting means you won’t get fat over the holidays. Wink!

Just kidding!

Leave a Reply

