Views

Maturity: I am Responsible for My Emotions

When I was younger, I allowed my emotions to overcome me and I expected people to understand why I was being a bitch or extremely moody. Someone once told me I should be able to control my emotions and not allow them to influence my actions. I didn’t get it. How can you control your emotions? If you feel anger, then you feel anger. You can’t not feel angry when you do.

Now I understand that it’s not about controlling your emotions but being responsible for them. My emotions will be triggered by events or things I have no control over, but I when I understand that they are my emotions, I can be responsible for them. I feel them, but I do not act based on them.

I’m not a teenager or in my early 20s anymore. I’m growing up and I’m maturing.

Leave a Reply

